Charlotte's Web Thoughts
Charlotte's Web Thoughts
I Know Exactly What I Want for My Birthday
14
0:00
-4:47

I Know Exactly What I Want for My Birthday

Pretty simple.
14
(image credit: Todd Heisler // The New York Times)

[This blog will always be free to read, but it’s also how I pay my bills. If you have suggestions or feedback on how I can earn your paid subscription, shoot me an email: cmclymer@gmail.com. And if this is too big of a commitment, I’m always thankful for a simple cup of coffee.]


Well, hot damn, today is my birthday. I'm now 38, which is old enough to know I'm still quite young and learning.

That's a blessing, but I don't need to give much thought to know what I want for my birthday.

I know exactly what I want, and it's straightforward.

Every year on my birthday, for the past decade, I've done a fundraiser for Running Start, an organization that trains young women in high school and college to run for elected office someday. It's a highly effective org and bipartisan.

This year, I've decided to focus exclusively on covering the travel and food costs for all 80 participants in the 5th Annual HBCU Women’s Leadership Summit, jointly organized by Running Start and Xceleader, being held next month here in Washington, D.C.

The Summit is bringing together young Black women leaders from 31 HBCUs (historically Black colleges and universities) for political training that will empower them to grow into our country's next generation of elected officials and other public service leaders.

Black women make up about seven percent of the U.S. population but only 5.4 percent of Congress and 3.2 percent of state executive offices. There is only one Black woman in the Senate (Sen. Laphonza Butler) and no Black woman has ever served as a governor.

So, Black women are drastically underrepresented in our country's political leadership, which is odd to me because 1) the contributions of Black women to our nation are outsized and essential and 2) I would not be where I am without the leadership and mentorship of Black women...

......from my 8th grade English teacher, Mrs. Mabry, who made me fall in love with writing, to the Black women officers under whom I served in the Army and invested in my leadership development, to Vice President Harris, who's consistently fought for my rights her entire career.

Early engagement and targeted training help overcome societal and cultural barriers, empowering Black women to run for office, excel in corporate environments, and lead with confidence.

Thus, it's only sensible to dedicate my annual birthday fundraiser for Running Start to this remarkable program that will train and empower the next generation of Black women leaders in the United States, especially in a year when we're about to elect a Black woman president.

So, for my birthday, my goal is to raise $24,000 today to cover all necessary travel and food costs for these participants, ensuring they have access to this program, regardless of cost.

Friends, I would be so honored and delighted and grateful if you would make a donation to this fundraiser, and, of course, I have further incentives:

Anyone donating at least $500 will get a one-on-one Zoom with me, and I'll treat an in-person lunch to anyone donating at least $1,000.

I have a damn good feeling we can hit this goal today, and you will forever have my gratitude.

So, please kindly donate here: https://runningstart.org/charlotte

Running Start is keeping track of all donations, and we'll be reaching out to all donors with thanks.

Please wish me a happy birthday by supporting this program!


Charlotte's Web Thoughts is a reader-supported publication. To receive new posts and support my work, consider becoming a free or paid subscriber.

Discussion about this podcast

Charlotte's Web Thoughts
Charlotte's Web Thoughts
Charlotte Clymer is a writer and LGBTQ advocate. You've probably seen her on Twitter (@cmclymer). This is the podcast version of her blog "Charlotte's Web Thoughts", which you can subscribe to here: charlotteclymer.substack.com