Charlotte's Web Thoughts
Charlotte's Web Thoughts
Hey, Let's Elect More Lesbians
7
0:00
-5:20

Hey, Let's Elect More Lesbians

Because of course.
7
(image credit: whitehouse.gov)

Hey folks, it gives me absolutely no pleasure to bring up that we’re now entering the 2024 campaign cycle.

I know, it’s horrible.

Didn’t we just get done with the last one? Have we not suffered enough through endless texts, emails, and phone calls from politicians and campaign orgs?

Yes, indeed, but the next one is upon us.

Candidates are starting to announce their campaigns, networks are angling for presidential debates and forums, and political journalists everywhere are looking like that meme of Ben Affleck smoking a cig in resignation.

But look, here’s the really good news: Republicans are running on stale fear-mongering that has most American voters rolling their eyes, President Biden keeps notching wins, and 2024 is poised to be the best year ever for electing LGBTQ candidates.

As many of y’all know, I’m on the Board of Directors for LPAC, the nation’s largest political advocacy org specifically dedicated to electing queer women.

Last year was our best ever. Even in the midst of erroneous talks of a “red wave,” LPAC’s candidates performed remarkably well. Of the 125 LGBTQ women we endorsed and supported last cycle, 84 of them were elected, an impressive 67% win rate in a cycle that saw the GOP win the House.

LPAC helped elect the first two lesbian governors in U.S. history: Maura Healey of Massachusetts and Tina Kotek of Oregon. We helped reelect the phenomenal Michigan Attorney General Dana Nessel in addition to new Arizona Attorney General Kris Mayes.

We helped Rep. Sharice Davids (KS-03) and Rep. Angie Craig (MN-02) get reelected to the House in tight races and Rep. Becca Balint (VT) to become not only the first lesbian but the first woman ever to represent Vermont in Congress in either the House or Senate.

All that in addition to dozens of LGBTQ women at the state and local level across the country.

I mean, look, not to keep beating this drum, but that’s a remarkable slate of wins in a year that political media insisted would be disastrous for Democrats and in response to an avalanche of anti-LGBTQ propaganda.

I’m incredibly excited to see what we’re gonna do in 2024. There is no doubt in my mind that LPAC can double the number of queer women in Congress and dramatically expand our numbers in state legislatures and city councils.

So, before y’all get inundated with fundraising requests, I’m reaching out to ask you to help us get more queer women in office.

You can donate here: https://bit.ly/DonateToLPAC

Okay, but is that it? Hell no, I brought incentives:

  • Every donor to LPAC this cycle will receive a handwritten thank you note from me, and I have pretty great stationary, I must say.

  • Every person donating $100 or more will get a phone call.

  • Donating $250 or more will get you an hour-long Zoom chat. One-on-one. Just you and me chatting and laughing and being dorks.

  • Donating $500 or more will you get my help on whatever project you want. Need some comms help? Need media outreach? Want me to edit your essay? Let’s talk.

But maybe you got something else in mind. Perhaps you want me to speak to your college or company. Maybe you’d like me to film a greeting for a friend or loved one. If you have an idea, reach out and we’ll chat about it: cmclymer@gmail.com

Y’all, I will do anything to get more queer women elected this cycle.

Finally, for those of you in D.C., LPAC is hosting a fundraiser tomorrow night, and I will absolutely be there in-person. Wanna hangout with me and have a few drinks and talk about the latest episode of Succession? Buy a ticket: https://bit.ly/PartyWithLPAC

Okay, that’s all I got, y’all.

Oh, one more thing: remember that ‘80s movie review I promised a few months ago?

Well, we just hit our goal a few days ago. I’m publishing that on Friday.

Be on the lookout. <3


Hi, I’m Charlotte Clymer, and this is Charlotte’s Web Thoughts, my Substack. It’s completely free to access and read, but it’s also how my bills! So, please do kindly consider upgrading to a paid subscription: just $7/month or save money with the $70/annual sub. You can also go way above and beyond by becoming a Lifetime Member at $250.

7 Comments
Charlotte's Web Thoughts
Charlotte's Web Thoughts
Charlotte Clymer is a writer and LGBTQ advocate. You've probably seen her on Twitter (@cmclymer). This is the podcast version of her blog "Charlotte's Web Thoughts", which you can subscribe to here: charlotteclymer.substack.com