63 Comments

A variety of your political insight and how to be an ally, plus, I love the stories of your life.

Expand full comment

I follow you on Twitter & attribute to my more acute understanding of LGBTQ issues to your contributions there. As a “senior”, I may be in the minority of this age group but believe our country will survive because of the active engagement of younger people with keen eyes on a democracy of openness to all people and ideas. I think more writing that addresses what daily life is for young people these days would be so helpful. I often wonder if my youth during the Reagan years parallels what the young are experiencing today.

Thank you for sharing so much of your thinking with us. We are all so much better off as a result.

Expand full comment

You know how well meaning people try and say what they think is helpful and sensitive, and just end up stepping in it with both feet?

Help us not to do that.....

Expand full comment

Insight/resources on how to assist LGBTQ youth

Expand full comment

I love your Washington insight and human rights activism. I would be interested in hearing stories about your military experience.

Expand full comment

How to start a journey of advocacy.

Expand full comment

I’m always moved by your personal stories. Your life journey clearly provides an abundance of material. That said, a person can get tired of journaling. I’d especially like to see your takes on popular entertainment and fashion trends! Let’s have a little fun.

Expand full comment

Mix it up, but always write about what you know. We have enough pundits who make stuff up. Your strength is your truth. Topic-wise, surprise us.

Expand full comment

Insight into what’s going on in DC federal politics

Expand full comment
founding

I enjoy your humor, political commentary, and trans advocacy. What really led me to subscribe was the quality of your writing rather than the topics. Keep up the great work.

Expand full comment

I love your activism, gun safety, BLM, lbqt, etc. You articulate so well that I learn so much from you.

Expand full comment

You’re the Dorothy Parker of political Twitter to me, your stories give so much insight into how the machine works in Washington with wit, passion and the perfect use of my favorite cuss words. I think commentary on current events with deep dives on the topics that interest you most would be perfect.

Expand full comment

I'd love to hear your thoughts/opinions on various pop culture topics; favorite shows, fashion, books, etc.

Expand full comment

If not too painful, I enjoyed reading about receiving our fallen at Dover.

Expand full comment

frankly I just love having your words / your voice visit my inbox. +1 for 'whatever Charlotte wants to say, I will make time to read' club xx

Expand full comment

Not sure you should change anything. You always expand my thoughts. Agree with Lisa G. on discussion of LGBTQ youth. Have known too many people who have struggled too much.

Expand full comment

I’m interested in your story, your early life. How you’ve gotten where you are. How power works. What it’s like to be a trans woman and I really read you Twitter as a news feed. You and Soledad. I feel like you do a good job of amplifying trans voices. I’d love to hear your take on misogyny and sexual abuse in the military.

Expand full comment

Keep doing what you're doing. Specific and constructive outrage is warranted. <3

Expand full comment

The piece on gun safety is my all time favorite. So more like that please!

Expand full comment

I have been a fan and follower since I read a piece you wrote for the Huff Post shortly after you left the military. I was impressed by your insight then and value it more all the time. You have become my cultural navigator for trans women. Every piece you write about your life helps me gain an understanding and appreciation for your personal journey and empathy for women in a similar situation. I highly value these pieces, so please please please continue to share what you’re comfortable sharing.

You wrote a piece a couple of years ago on the respectful use of pronouns by the DC police that I have cited many times with my colleagues. Such articles are invaluable teaching tools.

Thank you, Ms. Clymer, for sharing your journey. 💜

Expand full comment

Feel free. You gained your voice by following your heart and instincts. You do you and readers will meet you where you are.

Expand full comment

Have always deeply appreciated your thought leadership in all spaces you write about, Charlotte. Your lived experience is compelling and uplifting.

Expand full comment

Hi Charlotte, thanks for asking! I’d love to read about your journey as a Catholic. What does your engagement with the institution look like. How to back indigenous Catholic environmental/social justice activists.

Expand full comment

Hey Charlotte, I followed you as I am trans and love your insights into trans related issues, so please carry on. I'm from the UK too, so have found what you write on US governmental and political issues to be fascinating as well. In particular culture and human rights issues. In general though, I love what you do. Please keep up the good work. x

Expand full comment

Well, the first time I encountered your writing was on Twitter, when you responded to Meghan McCain’s comment about ‘East Coast liberal bubble’ with your personal experience of growing up in the rural South. I’ve never even been to the rural south, and my experiences growing up in rural Canada didn’t look like yours, but your writing resonated and felt exactly right. Trying to think of something you’ve written that I wouldn’t want to read more of...coming up empty, so I guess this is just a long winded way to say ‘please write more about anything you want to share’. (And thank you. You have helped broaden my understanding of many things.)

Expand full comment

You do you. Like someone mentioned before, I follow because of you, your thoughts and opinions about just anything. Your passion is your strength.. (and your wit of course)

Expand full comment

How to be a better ally. The specific issues trans folks deal with that may not be obvious to cis folks. And I’d like to see lighthearted items, like your favorite ice cream or more scooter video!

Expand full comment

I'd like to know where you got your inner strength from. At what age did you feel your confidence and inner strength worked well together? Do you run yourself into the ground taking on too much, or are you good at balancing things so you don't hit a wall? Are you good about saying no? (Regarding previous question.) You're awesome Charlotte!

Expand full comment

Oh gosh. Well, first, thanks for asking! How humbling to be in a position to suggest topics! I’ve loved everything you’ve written thus far. I’d love to see more commentary on politics in society, your evolution as a trans writer, anything your amazing mind would hatch! 😍

Expand full comment

Your own topics are already fantastic. But I’d love to hear more about other artists or writer colleagues who inspired/inspire you.

Expand full comment

Write about what worries you and how we can help fix it

Expand full comment

Write about what you know and write about what moves you. It's what makes writing good and why I signed up for this trip. Charlotte Unplugged. 😇😂

Expand full comment

I’d appreciate it if you pointed out the many ways we are thoughtless about people who are different from us. How to not offend people out of ignorance.

Expand full comment

I’d like to turn back time to a date when you live tweeted your review of the movie “Cats” I’ve never laughed so hard! But, we can’t go backwards, nor should we, I think. I enjoy a mix of pop culture, politics and Charlotte unfettered!

Expand full comment

I really felt for you when your mother died and the tangle of feelings that surfaced during that period. I have a complicated relationship with my dysfunctional mother who never raised me yet feels like I owe her time, money, love, and my family in my adulthood.

I resent media that frequently portray shitty parents who screw up their kids when they’re young only to do it again when the kids survive, and even thrive, despite the dysfunction that they’ve/we’ve had to endure. Discourse that implies ‘you owe it to them bc they’re your parents after all’ really breaks me. I have searched for writings on this and come up short. I love your voice and would appreciate any thoughts related to this.

Expand full comment

Roll the topics, pick 3 allow us your endearing readers to choose. Top selection gets an honest and truthful report from the desk of

Charlotte ©lymer ❤️

Expand full comment

If it is not too painful, stories about how you look at events in your life that occurred before you transitioned looking through your current lens of life.

Expand full comment

I would love to hear about your military service and what it was like.

Expand full comment

I enjoy and learn from your perspective especially when you respond to the opinions/perspectives of other writers who write about cultural, political, and human rights topics.

Expand full comment

I’m interested in learning about gender fluidity. What is it, EXACTLY? I’m a cis woman, love nearly all girly things but historically have been “somewhat if a dude” — in that I eschew traditional gender roles, the whole separate spheres thing. I am often “accused” of having giant balls (a compliment? I think?) I like cross stitch and quilting and motorcycles and building stuff. Is that gender fluidity? Or is it something else? I want to be supportive but it’s a hazy concept for me.

Expand full comment

I would like to hear more of your thoughts on the differences in how you see the world between before and after. Your story about being pulled over in the country was so impactful on me that I shared it with my work's diversity and inclusion team. It helps us to hear these stories in my very white, very cis-male company.

Expand full comment

I am so grateful when you shine a light on people getting it right, as we too rarely do. It helps me maintain a gratitude mindset. Keep doing all you're doing, but please especially keep doing that.

Expand full comment

I belong to a twitter RT group that advocates for various causes and issues, two being LGBTQ community/issues and supporting veterans so I would love to here your views on veteran/military concerns and the issues of LGBTQ military and veterans

Expand full comment

Love your honesty and authenticity. From showing us detail on the oppressive mechanisms of DC to working through fashion dilemmas, it’s an honor to have regular access to your warmth and frank honesty. I trust you 100% to keep illuminating what matters.

Expand full comment

Hi Charlotte: I started following you on Twitter back in 2016 because of your in-depth political analysis of the presidential election through your personal lens. You have a remarkable talent for parsing out strategy and teasing out the rhetoric from contentious issues. I envy your writing style.

Expand full comment

I want to hear your vision for the future. We all know what kind of dismal present we live in. What does a better world and a brighter tomorrow look like to you? Dream with me!

Expand full comment

Anything and everything! I absolutely adore you and your writing.

Expand full comment

Life. Observations. Interesting people you interact with. DC. Advocacy. History (yours, trans, queer, whatever) what your new job is like.

Expand full comment

Hello Charlotte, Thanks for asking! As the posts note, I love hearing your thoughts on all the issues of our times - its a great way to learn and to understand more nuanced take on complex issues. I especially love that you use humor and joy. As the parent of two gender queer offspring it helps to hear your wisdom. I am super interested to hear discussions about use of language. Your recent post on the use of trans woman is an example. Thanks for all you are doing for the world!

Expand full comment

I am seconding the comment on resources for assisting LGBTQ youth. It would be beneficial to learn some great organizations who support those doing on-the-ground work in the states passing these horrible anti-trans bills.

Expand full comment